Abstracts and materials guidance

Abstracts and materials guidance For Poster Presenters For Oral Presenters

Abstract submission deadline is July 01, 2018 through the form on the conference’s web-site.

ABSTRACTS
Submission of abstracts will be available through the online form. The size of abstracts is up to 2000 characters with spaces (text over this limit will be automatically truncated when submitted through the site). Figures, tables and literature references in the abstracts are not accepted. The abstracts received from the registered participants will be used in the preparation of the Conference Program and published in the Abstract Book in Russian and English by the beginning of the conference. One participant as the first author may lead no more than three abstracts (presentations).
The title of the abstract should include the Latin name of the taxon (binary for species and genus, for example: Delphinus delphis, Tursiops sp., single - for higher taxa).

The Organizing Committee kindly asks to send abstracts in two languages: Russian and English. In the online form there are separate fields for Russian and English texts of abstracts.

When reviewing the abstract (at least 2 reviewers), the following will be taken into account: 1) the abstract corresponds to the theme of the conference; 2) the scientific novelty and / or environmental importance of the information presented; 3) the correctness of the methodological approach; 4) the logic of presentation and general literacy.

The registered participant can also submit the full text of the ‘material’ simultaneously with the abstracts (before July 1, 2018) for publication in the first volume of the Collection, or later (until December 31, 2018) - for publication in the second volume of the Collection

EXTENDED ABSTRACTS GUIDANCE

Extended abstracts are planned to be published sequentially in two volumes of the Collection. The first volume will be published within six months after the conference, and will include materials submitted before July 01, 2018, drawn up in accordance with the Proceedings Format, and finalized (including any necessary revisions) in accordance with the reviewers’ comments before the announced deadline.

All extended abstracts sent after July 01, 2018 (but not later than December 31, 2018) and/or requiring substantial editing and revision will be published in the second volume. The planned date of publication of the second volume is the second half of 2019.

All extended abstracts will be reviewed by 2 or more reviewers, according to the following criteria: 1) suitability of presented work to the theme of the conference; 2) scientific novelty and/or environmental importance of the information presented; 3) correctness of the methodological approach; 4) the logic of presentation and general literacy.

Materials can be: a) accepted in unchanged form; b) returned for minor or significant revision or for correction of the language of presentation and spelling errors; c) rejected.

AUTHOR GUIDELINES

Both actual texts the Russian and English version each should not exceeded a 15,000 character including spaces. In addition to the actual text, manuscripts may include a reference list (up to 10 sources), tables (up to 3), and illustrations (up to 3). We recommend following the standard structure of scientific publications: introduction, methods, results, discussion, conclusions, acknowledgements (however, please, DO NOT place the headings before the sections).

Please note that the title of the manuscript, the list of authors and their affiliations should fully correspond to those in the abstracts, because they will be downloaded automatically from the online form for submission of abstracts and automatically inserted into formatted book of the extended materials. The manuscript should be uploaded through the site in the form of an attached .doc, .docx or .rtf file containing only the text of the extended abstract without a title, lists of authors and affiliations.

Russian and English texts of extended abstract (1), reference list (2), tables (3), figures (4), and captions to figures (5) are uploaded as separate files. To avoid problem with handling large number files, please name each file in the following format: use the first author’s last name in the beginning of each file and note the content type: PetrovPP1_text_ru, PetrovPP1_text_en, PetrovPP1_lit, PetrovPP1_table_1, PetrovPP1_fig_1, PetrovPP1_fig_2, PetrovPP1_fig_titles, where “Petrov” is the last name (surname), PP are the first and middle initials, content types are “text”, “table”, “fig” for figures, and “titles” is for the figure captions.

The files of the second and the third extended abstract (if any) of the same FIRST author are named respectively: PetrovPP2_... and PetrovPP3_...

 

The figures should be submitted in the .jpg, .tiff, or vector .eps image format. For grayscale images (photographs, drawings with gradual color transitions), the resolution must be at least 300 dpi, for graphics, charts - not lower than 600 dpi, for mixed images - 500 dpi. Plots created in Microsoft Excel can be submitted as xls or xlsx files. The objects in the pictures should be marked with numbers (or other symbols understandable to the speakers of both languages) or by text in two languages, with the legends explained in two languages in the figure captions. Geographical names or other terms, the English spelling and meaning of which are understandable to Russian readers, may be written in English only. If possible, all geographical names used in the text should be reflected in the figures. The maps should be accompanied with a degree grid and scale ruler.

The figure captions are submitted as a separate .doc, .docx or .rtf file.

The table(-s) are also submitted as separate .doc, .docx, .rtf или .xls/.xlsx file(-s). PLEASE NOTE: Table titles should be placed above the table and included into file with the table.

We are apologizing for complications with many files, but it is necessary to reduce errors, time, and cost the publication formatting process.

References to the figures and tables in the text of the manuscript should be as follows: (Fig. 1), (Table 1).

References cited in the text: (Smith, Jefferson 2009; Ivanov 2010; Ivanov et al. 2011)

Reference list (single for both, Russian and English versions of the manuscript) should be organized in alphabetical order, with Russian sources first, followed by sources in other languages. The reference list is uploaded as a separate file.

If the cited article originally was published in a Russian journal, which also has an English translation version (for example, Зоологический журнал and the Biology Bulletin, Биология моря and the Russian Journal of Marine Biology, etc.), a reference cited in the text should be presented in the language of the original publication, for example: (Иванов и др. 2010). In the References list, in this case, first comes the reference to the original publication, in Russian, and the reference of the English translation follows in square brackets (see Sample below). The references to published translated versions should strictly correspond to the published title, author names and the bibliographic data.

References to bilingual materials of previous conferences "Marine Mammals of the Holarctic" are made in the same way: if the original publication was in Russian (i.e. by Russian author/s), the reference is cited in the text of the manuscript in Russian. If a cited material was written by foreign authors, its English version is considered original.

If the work was published only in Russian, the English translation of the title of the publication should precisely correspond to its Russian original, and at the end of the translation a note is made: IN RUSSIAN (see Sample below)

References to foreign literature sources that do not have a translation into Russian are given in the original language, and translation to Russian is not provided.

The maximum allowed number of references is 10.

Sample of organizing and formatting the Reference list:

Article in journal:

Иванов И.И., Петров П.П., Сидоров С.С. 2018. Особенности распространения амазонской инии Inia geoffrensis в водах восточной Камчатки. Зоологический журнал, 65(5): 222-233 [Ivanov I.I., Petrov P.P., Sidorov S.S. 2018. Distribution of the Amazonian river dolphin Inia geoffrensis in the waters off eastern Kamchatka. Biology Bulletin, 65(5): 341-352].

Smith R., Brown B. G., Luis L.J.R. 2011. Diurnal movements of bottlenose dolphins Tursiops truncatus in the Ionian Sea. Marine Mammal Science, 86(2): 111-117.

Book:

Сидоров С.С., Петров П.П. 2015. Амазонская иния в водах Камчатки. Красноярск: Литпресс, 300 стр. [Sidorov S.S., Petrov P.P.  2015. The Amazonian river dolphin in the waters off Kamchatka. Krasnoyarsk: Litpress, 300 p. IN RUSSIAN].

Article in Collection / monography:

Иванов И.И., Петров П.П., Сидоров С.С. 2018. Особенности распространения амазонской инии Inia geoffrensis в водах восточной Камчатки. В: Китообразные Дальнего Востока (под ред. Сидорова С.С.), М.: Наука, с. 222-233 [Ivanov I.I., Petrov P.P., Sidorov S.S. 2018. Distribution of the Amazonian river dolphin Inia geoffrensis in the waters off eastern Kamchatka. In: Cetaceans of the Far East (S.S. Sidorov, ed.), M.: Nauka, p.222-233. IN RUSSIAN].

Conference materials:

Иванов И.И., Петров П.П., Сидоров С.С. 2018. Особенности распространения амазонской инии Inia geoffrensis в водах восточной Камчатки. В: Морские млекопитающие Голарктики. Сб. тр. X междунар. конф., М.: СММ, 1: 222-233 [Ivanov I.I., Petrov P.P., Sidorov S.S. 2018. Distribution of the Amazonian river dolphin Inia geoffrensis in the waters off eastern Kamchatka. In: Marine Mammals of the Holarctic. Collection of works of the X Intl. conf., M.: MMC, 1: 222-233].

FONTS AND FORMATS

Use Times New Roman Font, size 14, do not use more than one space. Format of date: dd.mm.yyyy..

Правила подачи материалов

Участникам конференции для представления устного или стендового доклада необходимо подать тезисы этого доклада до 01 июля 2018 г. через форму на сайте.

Тезисы
Подача тезисов будет осуществляться через интернет-форму. Объем тезисов - до 2000 знаков с пробелами (текст свыше этого лимита будет автоматически отсекаться при подаче через сайт). Рисунки, таблицы и ссылки на литературу в тексте тезисов не используются. Тезисы, полученные от зарегистрированных участников, будут использованы при подготовке Программы и изданы в Сборнике тезисов к началу конференции на русском и английском языках. Один участник может выступать первым автором не более трех тезисов (докладов).
Название тезисов должно включать латинское название таксона (бинарное для вида и рода, например: Delphinus delphis, Tursiops sp., одинарное - для более высоких таксонов).

Оргкомитет просит направлять тезисы на двух языках: русском и английском. В интернет-форме предусмотрены отдельные поля для русского и для английского текста тезисов.
При рецензировании тезисов (минимум 2 рецензента) будут учитываться: 1) соответствие доклада теме конференции, 2) научная новизна и/или природоохранная важность представленной информации, 3) корректность методического подхода, логика изложения, 4) общая грамотность.

Зарегистрированный участник также может подать полный текст материалов одновременно с тезисами (до 1 июля 2018 г.) для публикации в первом томе Сборника, либо позже (до 31 декабря 2018 года) – для публикации во втором томе Сборника.

Материалы
Материалы планируется издать последовательно в двух томах Сборника. Первый том будет издан в течение полугода после конференции, в него войдут материалы, присланные до 01 июля 2018 года, оформленные в соответствии с прилагаемыми правилами, снабженные качественным, не требующим существенного редактирования, переводом на английский язык и доработанные в соответствии с замечаниями рецензентов в установленный срок.
Все остальные материалы, присланные после 01 июля 2018 г. (но не позднее 31 декабря 2018 г.) и/или требующие существенного редактирования и доработки, будут опубликованы во втором томе. Планируемая дата издания второго тома - вторая половина 2019 года.

При рецензировании материалов (минимум 2 рецензента) будут учитываться: 1) соответствие доклада теме конференции, 2) научная новизна и/или природоохранная важность представленной информации, 3) корректность методического подхода, логика изложения, 4) общая грамотность.

Материалы могут быть: а) приняты в неизменном виде; б) возвращены для незначительной или существенной доработки либо для исправления языка изложения и орфографических ошибок; в) отклонены.

Правила оформления материалов
Объем материалов не должен превышать 15000 знаков с пробелами (как для русской, так и для английской версии). Помимо собственно текста, материалы могут включать список использованных источников (до 10 ссылок), таблицы (до 3 шт.), иллюстрации (до 3 шт.). Рекомендуем при подготовке материалов следовать стандартной структуре научных статей: введение, методы, результаты, обсуждение, выводы, благодарности (однако выделять эти разделы подзаголовками НЕ НУЖНО).

Обращаем ваше внимание, что название материалов, список авторов и место их работы должны полностью соответствовать таковым в тезисах, поскольку будут загружаться для верстки в автоматическом режиме из общей интернет-формы подачи тезисов и материалов.

Основной текст материалов необходимо загружать через сайт в виде прикреплённого файла .doc, .docx или .rtf, содержащего только текст материалов без названия, списка авторов и места их работы. Они будут автоматически получены из регистрационной формы. Русский и английский тексты материалов, список литературы, таблицы, рисунки, подписи к рисункам загружаются отдельными файлами.

Названия файлов первого поданного материала оформляются по фамилии первого автора в формате: PetrovPP1_text_ru, PetrovPP1_text_en, PetrovPP1_lit, PetrovPP1_table_1, PetrovPP1_fig_1, PetrovPP1_fig_2, PetrovPP1_fig_titles. 
Файлы второго и третьего материалов этого же автора обозначаются соответственно: PetrovPP2_... и PetrovPP3_...

Рисунки загружаются в виде отдельных файлов в формате растровых изображений .jpg, .tiff или векторных изображений .eps. Для полутоновых рисунков (фотографии, рисунки с постепенными переходами цветов) разрешение должно быть не ниже 300 dpi, для линейных рисунков (графики, схемы) - не ниже 600 dpi, для смешанных - 500 dpi. Для графиков, созданных средствами Microsof Excel, допускается подача в формате xls или xlsx. Для единообразия формата материалов обозначения на рисунках рекомендуется делать цифрами (или другими символами, понятными носителям обоих языков) либо текстом на двух языках с расшифровкой обозначений на двух языках в подписях к рисунку. Для географических названий или других терминов, английское написание и значение которых понятны носителям русского языка, допускается написание на рисунках только по-английски. По возможности, все географические названия, использованные в тексте, рекомендуется отразить на рисунках. На картах и картосхемах должны присутствовать градусная сетка и линейка масштаба.
Названия рисунков НА ДВУХ ЯЗЫКАХ подаются в виде отдельного файла .doc, .docx или .rtf.

Таблицы подаются в виде отдельных файлов .doc, .docx, .rtf или .xls/.xlsx. Текст в таблицах приводится НА ДВУХ ЯЗЫКАХ (то есть в каждой ячейке таблицы, содержащей текст, он должен сразу идти с переводом, см. образец). Название таблицы НА ДВУХ ЯЗЫКАХ приводится в файле с таблицей.

Ссылки на рисунки и таблицы в тексте указываются в формате: (Рис. 1), (Табл. 1).
Ссылки на литературу в тексте: (Петров, Сидоров 2009; Иванов 2010; Иванов и др. 2011)

Список литературы (общий для русской и английской версий текста материала) составляется в алфавитном порядке, сначала русскоязычные, потом иностранные источники, и загружается в виде отдельного файла.

Если цитируемая работа опубликована на русском языке в переводном журнале (например, Зоологический журнал и Biology Bulletin, Биология моря и Russian Journal of Marine Biology, и др.), то в текстах Материалов указывается ссылка на языке оригинальной публикации (например, Иванов и др. 2010), а в списке литературы первой приводится библиоссылка на русском языке, а в квадратных скобках - выходные данные англоязычной версии публикации (см. Образец... ниже). Название и выходные данные этой статьи на английском языке строго соответствуют опубликованной англоязычной версии! Вольный перевод названия русскоязычного оригинала не допускается.

Ссылки на двуязычные Материалы предыдущих конференций “Морские млекопитающие Голарктики” оформляются аналогично: если оригинал публикации был на русском языке, в тексте приводится ссылка на русском; оригиналом материалов для иностранных авторов цитируемого источника следует считать англоязычную версию статьи.

Если работа была опубликована в русскоязычном издании на русском языке, английский перевод названия публикации должен максимально точно соответствовать ее русскому названию, а в конце перевода делается пометка: IN RUSSIAN (см. Образец… ниже)

Ссылки на иностранные источники литературы, не имеющие перевода на русский язык, приводятся на языке оригинала и на русский язык не переводятся.

Список источников составляется в алфавитном порядке, сначала - публикации с оригинальными версиями на русском языке, затем - иностранные источники. Максимально допустимое количество цитируемых источников – 10.

Образец оформления списка литературы:

Статья в журнале:
Иванов И.И., Петров П.П., Сидоров С.С. 2018. Особенности распространения амазонской инии Inia geoffrensis в водах восточной Камчатки. Зоологический журнал, 65(5): 222-233 [Ivanov I.I., Petrov P.P., Sidorov S.S. 2018. Distribution of the Amazonian river dolphin Inia geoffrensis in the waters off eastern Kamchatka. Biology Bulletin, 65(5): 341-352].
Smith R., Brown B. G., Luis L.J.R. 2011. Diurnal movements of bottlenose dolphins Tursiops truncatus in the Ionian Sea. Marine Mammal Science, 86(2): 111-117.

Книга:
Сидоров С.С., Петров П.П. 2015. Амазонская иния в водах Камчатки. Красноярск: Литпресс, 300 стр. [Sidorov S.S., Petrov P.P. 2015. The Amazonian river dolphin in the waters off Kamchatka. Krasnoyarsk: Litpress, 300 p. IN RUSSIAN].

Статья в сборнике / монография:
Иванов И.И., Петров П.П., Сидоров С.С. 2018. Особенности распространения амазонской инии Inia geoffrensis в водах восточной Камчатки. В: Китообразные Дальнего Востока (под ред. Сидорова С.С.), М.: Наука, с. 222-233 [Ivanov I.I., Petrov P.P., Sidorov S.S. 2018. Distribution of the Amazonian river dolphin Inia geoffrensis in the waters off eastern Kamchatka. In: Cetaceans of the Far East (S.S. Sidorov, ed.), M.: Nauka, p.222-233. IN RUSSIAN].

Материалы конференций:
Иванов И.И., Петров П.П., Сидоров С.С. 2018. Особенности распространения амазонской инии Inia geoffrensis в водах восточной Камчатки. В: Морские млекопитающие Голарктики. Сб. тр. X междунар. конф., М.: СММ, 1: 222-233 [Ivanov I.I., Petrov P.P., Sidorov S.S. 2018. Distribution of the Amazonian river dolphin Inia geoffrensis in the waters off eastern Kamchatka. In: Marine Mammals of the Holarctic. Collection of works of the X Intl. conf., M.: MMC, 1: 222-233].


При наборе текста материалов рекомендуем придерживаться следующих правил:
   
• При наборе пользуйтесь стандартным шрифтом Times New Roman. Размер шрифта - 14; не делайте более одного пробела.
• Для набора формул используйте редактор формул.
• В десятичных дробях ставится точка: 0.25 вместо 0,25.
• Используются только "кавычки", но не «кавычки».
• В тексте все даты в виде "число.месяц.год" набираются следующим образом: 2.05.1991 г.
• Точка не ставится после: заголовков и подзаголовков, названия таблицы, размерностей (ч - час, с - секунда, г - грамм, мин - минута, сут - сутки, град - градус, м - метр), а также в подстрочных индексах (Сорг).
• Точка ставится после: сносок, примечания, подписи к рисунку, сокращений (мес. - месяц, нед. - неделя, г. - год, млн. - миллион).
• Размерности отделяются от цифры пробелом (760 мм рт. ст., 100 кПа, 77 К, 50 м/с2), кроме градусов, процентов, промилле: 90°, 20°С, 50%, 20‰; для написания сложных размерностей используются скобки: Дж/(моль К). Размерности переменных приводятся через запятую (E, кДж/моль), подлогарифмических величин - в квадратных скобках, без запятой: ln τ [мин].
• Степени, площади и объемы приводятся как 1012, км2, м3 
• При перечислении, а также в числовых интервалах размерность приводится лишь для последнего числа (18-20°С), за исключением угловых градусов, которые никогда не опускаются: 5°-10°.
• Числа с буквами в обозначениях необходимо набирать без пробелов: рис. 1А.
• В географических координатах северная/южная широта и западная/восточная долгота указываются сокращенно одной буквой, знаки отделяются пробелами: 56.5° N, 85.0° E.
• Допускаются основные общепринятые и часто используемые сокращения: б. – бухта, зал. – залив, о-в – остров, п-ов – полуостров, оз. – озеро, арх. –архипелаг, м. – мыс.